Justice

Showing 1–16 of 79 results

Title & Subtitle Abstract Contributors Pages Year Purchase
NEW!

More Powerful Together

Conversations with Climate Activists and Indigenous Land Defenders

How can social movements help bring about large-scale systems change? This is the question Jen Gobby sets out to answer in More Powerful Together. As an activist, Gobby has been actively involved … 250 View
NEW!

Still Hopeful

Lessons from a Lifetime of Activism

“Canada’s best-known voice of dissent.” — CBC In this timely book, Barlow counters the prevailing atmosphere of pessimism that surrounds us and offers lessons of hope that … 240 View
NEW!

The Environmentalist’s Dilemma

Promise and Peril in an Age of Climate Crisis

For readers of Ronald Wright, Rebecca Solnit, and Yuval Noah Harari, comes a compelling inquiry into our relationship with humanity’s latest and greatest calamity. In the … 266 View

The Global Fight for Climate Justice

Anticapitalist Responses to Global Warming and Environmental Destruction

As capitalism continues with business as usual, climate change is fast expanding the gap between rich and poor, and between and within nations, as well imposing unparalleled suffering on those … 286 View
NEW!

The Next Generation of Impact Assessment

A Critical Review of the Canadian Impact Assessment Act

Legislated impact assessment requirements were first introduced over fifty years ago with the National Environmental Policy Act in the United States and have since spread to over a hundred and … ; 614 View
NEW!

To Be A Water Protector

The Rise of the Wiindigoo Slayers

Winona LaDuke is a leader in cultural-based sustainable development strategies, renewable energy, sustainable food systems and Indigenous rights. Her new book, To Be a Water Protector: Rise of … 320 View
From

Introduction

From: The Global Fight for Climate Justice

Preview

- 3 $0.30 Add
From
NEW!

Introduction

From: To Be A Water Protector

Preview

- 8 $0.80 Add
From
NEW!

Introduction

From: The Next Generation of Impact Assessment

Preview

- 8 $0.80 Add
From
NEW!

Introduction

From: Still Hopeful

Preview

In the Introduction, author and activist Maude Barlow reflects on her 40-year career in social justice and what motivates her to continue the fight: hope. Barlow explains the motivation behind … 4 $0.40 Add
From
NEW!

The Newest Normal

From: The Environmentalist’s Dilemma

Preview

Things have never been so good for humanity, yet so dire for the planet. On one side of the ledger: practically any quantifiable aspect of human well-being, on the other: All the life that … 13 $1.30 Add
From
NEW!

Thinking Together About Changing Everything

From: More Powerful Together

Preview

This chapter contains the following readings: Global Climate and Inequality Crises – This Research Project – Working Towards Decolonial Research Practice – This Book 17 $1.70 Add
From

1.Climate Emergency

Introduction Tomorrow Will Be Too Late (Fidel Castro) Some Impacts of Global Warming (Climate and Capitalism) Not a Distant Prospect (Ian Angus) Climate Wrongs and Human Rights (Oxfam) If Socialism Fails: The Spectre of 21st Century Barbarism (Ian Angus)

From: The Global Fight for Climate Justice

Preview

- ; 17 $1.70 Add
From
NEW!

Give Hope a Chance

From: Still Hopeful

Preview

In Chapter One, Barlow stresses how– as we come out of a global pandemic and face many more crises on the horizon– we need to remain hopeful. In this chapter Barlow argues for staying … 42 $4.20 Add
From
NEW!

Mickey Mouse is All Right

From: The Environmentalist’s Dilemma

Preview

This chapter begins by asking how much oil is in the ground, how much carbon can the sky absorb, and how fast will we go before we finally slow down? Through the story of a family trip to … 11 $1.10 Add
From
NEW!

Omaa Akiing: Here On Earth

From: To Be A Water Protector

Preview

Winter Count – How to Be Better Ancestors – The Holy Land Is Here – The Month You Remember Me 17 $1.70 Add