House of Anansi Press

Showing 1–16 of 147 results

Title & Subtitle Abstract Contributors Pages Year Purchase

A Short History of Progress

Fifteenth Anniversary Edition

Now more relevant than ever, Ronald Wright’s #1 national bestseller, A Short History of Progress. The fifteenth anniversary edition includes a new introduction warning of the accelerating … 226 View

All Our Relations

Finding the Path Forward

In this urgent and incisive work, bestselling and award-winning author Tanya Talaga explores the alarming rise of youth suicide in Indigenous communities in Canada and beyond. From Northern … 290 View

In Search of a Better World

A Human Rights Odyssey

A work of memoir, history, and a call to action, the CBC Massey Lectures by internationally renowned UN prosecutor and scholar Payam Akhavan is a powerful and essential work on the major human … 401 View

Is This the End of the Liberal International Order?

The Munk Debate on Geopolitics

Be it resolved, the liberal international order is over… Since the end of World War II, global affairs have been shaped by three broad trends: the increasing free movement of people and … ; ; 106 View

No More Nice Girls

Gender, Power, and Why It’s Time to Stop Playing by the Rules

A groundbreaking, insightful book about women and power from award-winning journalist Lauren McKeon, which shows how women are disrupting the standard (very male) vision of power, ditching … 384 View
NEW!

On Love and Tyranny

The Life and Politics of Hannah Arendt

In an utterly unique approach to biography, On Love and Tyranny traces the life and work of the iconic German Jewish intellectual Hannah Arendt, whose political philosophy and understandings of … 272 View

Payback

Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth

Legendary poet, novelist, and essayist Margaret Atwood gives us a surprising look at the topic of debt — a timely subject during our current period of economic upheaval, caused by the … 242 View

Political Correctness

The Munk Debates

The twenty-second Munk Debate pits acclaimed journalist, professor, and ordained minister Michael Eric Dyson and New York Times columnist Michelle Goldberg against renowned actor and writer … ; ; ; ; 147 View

Power Shift

The Longest Revolution

Bestselling author, journalist, and human rights activist Sally Armstrong argues that humankind requires the equal status of women and girls. The facts are indisputable. When women get even a bit … 330 View
NEW!

Reset

Reclaiming the Internet for Civil Society

In the 2020 CBC Massey Lectures, bestselling author and renowned technology and security expert Ronald J. Deibert exposes the disturbing influence and impact of the internet on politics, the … 339 View

Seven Fallen Feathers

Racism, Death, and Hard Truths in a Northern City

The groundbreaking and multiple award-winning national bestseller work about systemic racism, education, the failure of the policing and justice systems, and Indigenous rights by Tanya Talaga. … 387 View

The Future of Capitalism

Katrina Vanden Heuvel and Yanis Varoufakis vs. Arthur Brooks and David Brooks

“We need to organise politically to defend the weak, empower the many, and prepare the ground for reversing the absurdities of capitalism.” — Yanis Varoufakis In Western … ; ; 142 View

The Global Refugee Crisis: How Should We Respond?

The Munk Debates

The world is facing the worst humanitarian crisis since the Second World War. Over 300,000 are dead in Syria, and one and half million are either injured or disabled. Four and a half million … ; ; ; ; 114 View

The Rise of Populism

The Munk Debates

The twenty-third semi-annual Munk Debate, held on November 2, 2018, pits Stephen Bannon, the CEO of the Donald Trump presidential campaign, against columnist and author David Frum to debate the … ; ; 120 View

The Time Has Come

Why Men Must Join the Gender Equality Revolution

In the vein of Tim Wise’s White Like Me, The Time Has Come —by co-founder of the White Ribbon campaign Michael Kaufman — offers a scholarly grounded and forthright look at why and how men must … 274 View

The Truth About Stories

A Native Narrative

"Stories are wondrous things," award-winning author and scholar Thomas King declares in his 2003 CBC Massey Lectures. "And they are dangerous." Beginning with a traditional … 184 View